How to jailbreak iPhone 3G any firmware untethered

Note that I wrote the following tutorial for beginners to to make it easy so sorry if I sound a bit simple at parts 😛

Hello, in this post I will show you how to jailbreak your iPhone 3G (making this for a friend). I have a jailbroken iPad 2, iPhone 4, etc… But today I screwed up my iPhone 3G (yes i still use it) 🙂 so while I’m jailbreaking it again I thought I would explain it. It actually took me a while to find a version of redsnow that is compatible with the iPhone 3G about 2 or 3 years ago 😛 , so let’s get straight into it:

What you will need:
• Resn0w which can be downloaded here

(save it and extract the .zip to your desktop)

• The IPSW for whatever version iPhone you have. To see what version you have go to settings (on your iPhone) general, about and scroll down to Version. I have 4.2.1 so I need to download the IPSW for 4.2.1. To do that, go to felixbruns.de and click on iPod firmware

20120323-181857.jpg

Now where it says iPhone in the second drop down box, scroll down to iPhone 3G followed by your firmware version. So for me I would select this one because I have an iPhone 3G on 4.2.1.

20120323-182147.jpg

20120323-182200.jpg

Save this IPSW to your desktop where you extracted redsn0w

Now we have everything, let’s get started.
Go to where you extracted redsn0w (mine is on my desktop)
Right click and make sure to “open as” ->;;;ADMINISTRATOR!

20120323-182709.jpg
right click on redsn0w.exe and select “run as administrator” and allow

Now redsn0w will open. click “browse
” and select the .IPSW file you downloaded earlier

20120323-183500.jpg

Click “open”

It will say processing firmware and a bunch of other stuff, just wait till it says IPSW successfully identified and hit next. More loading…
Then choose the addons you want. DON’T UNCHECK CYDIA. I am just going to have install cydia, enable multitasking, and enable home screen wallpaper checked. Then click next.

Now plug your iPhone into your computer, THEN hold the power button and turn it off, THEN click next and follow the instructions on the that page. If you miss it or just want to see what needs to be done on the next step then click next, read what you have to do then click back and next when your ready.
(this step puts your device in DFU mode) sorry if thats confusing, comment if your stuck.

Once redsn0w says jailbreaking… Waiting for reboot etc you can let go of the home button. Your iPhone will now show lots of “random” words etc and then this:

20120323-184407.jpg

Wait for your phone to reach the slide to unlock screen.

Redsn0w should now say “done” on your computer and you can now click finish.
Open Cydia from your SpringBoard (there will be an app for it) to finish the setup.

That’s it! Enjoy your now jailbroken iPhone 3G

After jailbroken:

20120323-184934.jpg

Leave a Reply

